So, for a while now I have been trying to think of something I can make at home to sell online. Seeing as Tim is studying rather than working full time things get a bit tight which means no money for hobbies. My idea, turn my hobbies into a little earner. That is the plan whether it eventuates will be something else…..

I have had so much trouble trying to think of one thing I would be happy to make evening by evening, weekend upon weekend. I think I now have it. I like books, I like book binding, I like printing, I like stitching and how can I combine it all?

Printing and stitching designs onto card to turn into the covers of handmade notebooks. I will be able to do whatever type of crafting I want to do at the time and create unique little notebooks.

How will I do it? Well, I will need a press to print lino, wood blocks and hopefully one day to do some letter press (It will also come in handy if I turn my attention more complex bookbinding too). Since letterpress kind of died out a few decades ago and is now very much in vogue there is no way I can buy my own. I want to be able to do multiple types of things and sized things with my press anyway and so I will try to build my own (or rather, have my husband build one for me while I watch on!)

Here are two designs I am looking at. Tim personally prefers the second one which is from Wood Block Art and is the way he envisaged a press when I told him my idea. We’ll look into both and work out which will be most suited.

1. Tabletop Letter Press featured on Ready Made

tabletop-letterpress

2. Bottle Jack Press from Wood Block Art

