I am slowly beginning to improve the look of our house and am getting to be quite happy with the lounge room. I’m doing one room at a time beginning with the lounge room and once I am happy with it I’ll move into the kitchen & dining area. If you have seen some of my other posts of our home you will notice some items moving around until they find their perfect spot!

Here’s the latest look:

Our Home - Labour Day 2011

Today’s effort was 9 little cushions that now feature on one of our lounge chairs. All the other things in the photos have been done over the last few weeks but haven’t been shown on here yet.

A recent great find for our home was the stack of old school textbooks from 1947, picked up at our church Autumn Fair for a whole $1 for the set! We can now learn psychology, mathematics, physical science, biology and history as it was in the late 1940’s. The books really are quite interesting and look pretty good too I think.

Tim and I aren’t the neatest of people and do have trouble putting our things away and so all my decorating is featuring storage areas for our things we always seem to get out and never put away! The fabric lidded wooden box now holds all our nail clippers and manicure items. The melted record bowl in the shelf beneath it holds our random stationery items that get used infrequently but are still needed. All the books we are currently reading are in the bottom shelf.

I am quite happy with the tables and their accessories now but am still working on the walls and how to hide our yucky, smelly, ripped green leather lounge. We’re saving up to replace it so I am working around it at the moment! For the wall above the side table with the lamp and books I am going to get some embroidery hoops and am going to put some Fat Quarter fabric in them. I really like this idea because you can change the look all the time quite easily, see the ones below that were featured on Love&Lace. I have saved some of the fabric from the cushions and will use it amongst other fabric set aside for this particular purpose.

Embroidery Hoop Wall Art

Embroidery Art featured on Love&Lace

Above the TV I want to get a really big print of a map. We’re tight for decorating money at the moment and so some Photoshop work and the $9 printing of black and white on A0 at Officeworks seems like a good option. My other idea for the inclusion of maps in our home is to find an old Melway and do this to our coffee table:

Map Coffee Table

Map Coffee Table as featured in Craftzine

I am thinking that this idea might make the room a bit too busy though. So, I am liking this idea too that will incorporate maps into our living room; it was featured in the San Francisco Chronicle. (Why maps you ask, well I am a land surveyor and maps are very relaxing and pleasing to my eyes!)

Map Coasters

Map Coasters as featured in the San Francisco Chronicle

Well, so many ideas and I’m still only on my first room! I would love to hear what you think.

